RSS

The top ten worst questions commonly asked from someone with a chronic illness

23 May

So here it goes 🙂


1)Have you tried holistic options? (many. I’ll bring it back up with my doctor on my next visit, thanks.)
2) Could it be your stress? (My opinion is, it is my illness. I’ll bring it up with my doctor though, thanks.)
3) Could it have to do with the altitude? (I’ll bring it up with my doctor…thanks.)
4) I read in {insert any generic magazine here} about a new medication. Have you heard about it? (I was on it when it came out 17 years ago. but I’ll bring it up with my doctor. thank you.)
5) Have you thought about being in a trial study? (I’ll ask my doctor. thanks?)
6) WOW. If I were you, I don’t know what I would do. I might just kill myself. (Thanks?)
7) Have they found what is causing the problem? (no. my doctor is an idiot. I’ll remind him, thanks!)
8) Have you tried hypnosis? (I’m still sick, but when the phone rings I bark like a dog.)
9) Have you googled your illness? (….no! thanks!)
10) Have you ever thought you were getting sick because the aliens or magicians have been bugging people for years and in some cases, making people really sick.

Image

Well these are a few out of many absurd suggestion and questions that  the people suffering from chronic illnesses have to come across but instead of taking them negatively my stance is that people give all of these suggestions only because they care. I don’t feel that complaining about people making these suggestions is appropriate or nice.

While i KNOW it’s not easy f to deal with an illness, it’s not easy for your loved ones either. However harsh this sounds, the reality is, it’s NOT all about you. They’re just trying to help. Be grateful you have such caring people in your life who are trying to help you, and not counting down the days until the illness wins.

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
